Montana will see an additional Congressional Seat in the U.S. House of Representatives through 2030

HELENA, Mont. – MTGOP Chairman Don “K” Kaltschmidt released the following statement in response to the U.S. Census Bureau’s announcement that Montana will see an additional Congressional Seat in the U.S. House of Representatives:

“For the past thirty years, Montana has been the most underrepresented state in the country and today’s announcement is welcomed news towards restoring the representation that Montanans deserve in Washington, D.C.  Despite our excitement, we also know our opposition will do everything in their power to minimize our voices at the ballot box by rigging the system for political benefit.  We hope that the Montana Districting and Apportionment Commission will draw legislative district lines that are free of gerrymandering and fairly reflect the will of Montana voters. As we have already expressed concern over the Commission’s fifth member, we will do all we can to ensure the redistricting process is fair, transparent, and carried out in a way that reflects the will of Montana voters, not just those seeking political power.”

MTGOP Chairman Don “K” Kaltschmidt also announced the formation of a Redistricting Committee within the Montana Republican Party which is charged with communicating with and activating voters to participate in the process that will determine Congressional and Legislative Districts for the next ten years. The MTGOP is committed to active involvement throughout the redistricting process and ensuring that any new Congressional and Legislative Districts are done in a transparent and equitable process.

MTGOP Redistricting Committee Members:

Terry Nelson – Ravalli County

Chris Shipp – Yellowstone County

Vondene Kopetski – Missoula County

Tim Stark – Yellowstone County

Sarah Swanson – Valley County

Mary-Rose Beasley – Musselshell County